Hell ride report for 5/7/13

Hell ride report for 5/7/13

With slightly warmer weather in the forecast for this week’s Hell ride 🙂 I decided to indulge in the fun.  I arrived and Robert Ray, Joe Hamilton, Jesus Salazar, Byron Deford, Randall Green, Buck Rea, and Drew Malany joined me to be the brave ones for a ride in some good old wind.

We headed out with a head wind.  A little confusion insued with our inability to rotate in a paceline or understand what clockwise means.  We got that figured out and started to rotate just in time to wait 5 or 10 minutes for a train.  We waited for some cars to pass us and off we were again.  Tempo was set up Birds Eye.  Several riders took turns with pulls including a huge effort by Drew.  Near the end Buck set down a good effort into the wind to nearly get the sprint.  I came around him with 100m to go and nipped him on the line.  It looked like Randall brought up the rear with third.

We regrouped at the top for the dash down the hill.  We had some difficulty figuring out we did not own the road and nearly had an incident with a vehicle when someone did not hear car back.  We all survived though.  Pulls were shared between Robert, Jesus, Drew, and Joe.  Drew made a great effort for the uphill sprint into the wind but I came around him with 100 to go to nip him on the line.  I believe Joe came in for a very nice third on that one.?

We rolled out almost immediately for our third segment.  I attacked soon after the railroad tracks and soloed off the front.  I could not tell who brought me back in but it looked like a good group effort.  They got me about a mile before the sprint where Randall immediately launched a counter attack.  Good effort was put forth in chasing him down. I launched another counter attack at the base of the hill where I won the third sprint, Drew in second, and third to Buck I think.  Help me out on that one.

We met at Libation station and put one more Hell ride in the books.  Thanks for coming out.

Rick

 

__._,_.___

 

Leave a Reply

